Re-Legalise it

I often hear & read the increasingly loud calls to ‘Legalise cannabis (aka ‘marijuana’)’.. BUT the reality is, the call should be to ‘Re-Legalise it !’

I often think, that many in the ‘younger generations’ (under 40) think it’s always been illegal.. WRONG !!!
Just a little research, can list heaps of data on the once, wide uses of cannabis for: medicinal/therapeutic, spiritual, industrial (hemp) & recreational purposes, over 1000s of years.

BUT; Until I saw a documentary by ‘My Hero’: Jack Herer (RIP).. I had no real idea about most of this stuff. I grew up in the 1970s, also believing most of the B-S.. about ‘Marijuana’. When I first came into contact with ‘the DRUG’, I was hesitant to try it, as I too had heard all the misinformation (Reefer Madness) about it, causing insanity & being a ‘gateway to HARD DRUGS’ etc. etc. etc. BUT.. by the time I actually did take my first ‘toke’, I discovered that a majority in my age group (in my local area) had already tried it..

Aotearoa/NZ still having some of the most draconian drug laws in the OECD, BUT also amongst the highest use rates per capita, in the WORLD (according to reports from UN office of ‘Drugs & Crime’). It is time for the OPEN & honest conversation about this.. without the CRAP, demonisation & misinformation, that has to date, clouded the debate & effectively scared the politicians away from any substantive law changes. I have heard that NZ Police have de-facto ‘decriminalised it’ BUT this is also nonsense.. whilst it may no longer be their #1 priority (?), the arrest rate in NZ, is apparently near/at the top of the list of ‘western’ countries, who are increasingly moving away from ‘Zero-tolerance’ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

SO.. I too, join the calls to “RE-LEGALISE CANNABIS” ๐Ÿ™‚

“What do we want ? LAW REFORM.. When do we want it ? NOW !!!!!!!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Re-Legalise it

  1. nugsandmugs says:

    Amen. Fortunately we are in a beautiful age of information and people have access to tons of it. We just need to encourage people to seek it out and share it with others. I operate a smoke shop / coffee lounge here in Honolulu and have this conversation with people a few times a month. It used to surprise me, but lets be honest, the truth isn’t exactly what we have been fed about cannabis up until now. Thank you for fighting the good fight.

    • Zedd says:

      Thx for your comment. Whilst there is a load of Info. out there, I find that much of it is MISINFO. esp. around cannabis.
      In light of the recent UNGASS, methinks the tide has turned & is SLOWLY rising against prohibition. ๐Ÿ™‚
      “Kia Ora” (be well) & Happy Independance day !

Leave a Reply

